This past weekend’s farmers market was filled with fresh figs and I couldn’t help purchasing some.  I’ve been wanting to make a cake recipe that I pulled out of Gourmet in 2009 (ok, so I’m a pack rat for recipes), but it calls for fig preserves, so I made the preserves, or in this case, jam and will use one for the cake.

IMG_1195

 

I used a recipe from the blog, Kiss My Spatula (love the name!) for Fig Jam.  Here it is just getting underway above.

Her photographs are stunning…

homemade_fig_jam_02

My finished product wasn’t quite as dark as hers, but I used a different variety of fig.  I thought mine looked pretty tasty though, and you can definitely get the essence of lemon in the flavor, but not the Grand Marnier.

IMG_1196

 

I can’t wait to make Frances O’Neal’s fig cake next!  This recipe link says that they adapted it, but the ingredients are identical to my original.

