We all have those days where nothing seems to go right.  In the cooking department, it can get very ugly.  I had one of those days yesterday, but somehow after all the cussing and self-flagellation, everything worked itself out.

IMG_1164

 

Ok, so its not the prettiest of pictures, but we started snarfing it down as soon as it was cool enough.  This is a flourless chocolate cake from Real Simple that is astonishingly good.  Their picture is much prettier…

chocolate-cake_300

 

But lets get right to the nonsense that went on yesterday.  First of all, I’ve made this cake a few times so I wasn’t concentrating completely.  In went the butter, cream and chocolate to be melted.  No problem.  But as soon as I put the cream in I knew something was wrong.  It called for 1 1/4 cups of heavy cream, but 1 cup of it was for the whipped cream and I had just put the whole thing in the pan…crap.  Timeout.  Being the college educated, intelligent person that I am, I finished melting everything, added some more chocolate and removed one cup of said liquid and moved on.

Then I mixed up the eggs, sugar and cocoa powder (I added more for good measure since I had reduced the chocolaty-ness from my previous mistake).  No problem. Woops, somehow I’d gotten 6 eggs into my head and it only called for 5.  Crap.  Too late.  Oh well, put in some more cocoa powder.  The batter looked fine.  I baked it and voila, it actually was the best one I’ve made so far (according to my man).

Now I had this annoying cup of chocolate/cream/butter mixture left over with no recipe.  Ok, so I added some flour (I can eat gluten), sugar and put it in one of my baby bread molds and popped it in the oven and again, voila!

IMG_1163

 

Petit chocolate cake, which I’m going to have a slice of for breakfast!  As they say, when life gives you lemons, make lemonade, and I did!! Notice the well-used recipe in the background?  Oh yeah, and since I used all my heavy cream and couldn’t make the fancy whipped cream with creme fraiche, I just sprinkled the cake with powdered sugar and it was great.

Anyone else have kitchen foibles they’d like to share (so I don’t feel like the only one)?

