IMG_1034

 

I can’t tell you how much I look forward to summer, but not in the way you would expect.  Sure, I like sunshine and vacations, but its the tomato and mozzarella all summer long that I live for.  Call me simple, but NOTHING beats fresh sliced tomatoes (room temp) with mozzarella and basil.  Make sure to use the best aged balsamic you can get your hands on, fleur de sel and fresh ground pepper.  The best summer meal ever…add an ear of corn and some grilled chicken if you’ve got company coming over.

balsamic

 

I will let you in on a secret.  My favorite balsamic vinegar is Saporoso.  You can find it online…I bought my first bottle in Milan, and there’s no turning back from the best.  You can purchase various aged versions at http://www.houseofbalsamic.com.  The 8 year is magnificent, but the 6 year is excellent too.  You can also pick up a balsamic glaze for a similar effect (but not the same).  Whatever you do, don’t use cheap balsamic vinegar.  It will skew the taste to tartness, which will ruin the delicate balance.

