Of course the second I saw this dress, I wanted it.  And of course, they only made 10 of them and they are all destined for museums…sigh!  So it is with art…

The dress I am referring to is a collaboration between Ellsworth Kelly, who just turned 90, and Francisco Costa of Calvin Klein.

JPVOGEL-articleLarge

 

The dress pictured above is based off of a 1952 sheath that Kelly designed with leftover fabric from a rare piece where he used colored fabric instead of paint.  

calvin-klein-collection-francisco-costa-for-ellsworth-kelly-SKETCH-041813-371x500

 

Its incredible how modern the idea is today…just imagine how radical it must have seemed in 1952!

IMG_0919

 

Dree Hemingway wore the dress at Kelly’s studio in upstate NY in front of one his ‘Black Relief over White II’…exquisite.  Now if I could only snag one of these gorgeous dresses to go with my custom black and white Ferragamos….

