One of my favorite bloggers, French Essence, went to Venice this past weekend, and her lovely photos on her blog, Twitter, Facebook, etc. made me homesick to revisit my short stint there this past November.  You can find Vicki Archer’s lovely Venice musings here http://dailyclick.vickiarcher.com

I love reading her (mainly) French themed posts, and I’m sure you will too.

But on to my own Venice reverie….one thing you DON’T see in Venice is grass, trees, vegetation, which, of course, most of us take for granted.  If you look at many pictures of Venice, you will notice the absence.  However, the lovely hotel where we stayed was a former doge palace and is now a Marriott property, and they have one of the largest, and most gorgeous gardens on Cannareggio.  Take a look…

DSCN0715

 

Wandering through this lovely green oasis was indescribably beautiful…I fear these pictures do not do it justice…

DSCN0704

 

But you get the idea…like being in something magical and otherworldly…

DSCN0707

 

And deeply ingrained in my memory…

DSCN0713

 

You can actually stay in this lovely building just behind the main hotel and close enough to hear the water lapping up from the lagoon…

DSCN0712

 

This is the hotel’s other private dock (and boat) on the lagoon side…there’s also a canal side entrance.

Venice was a ‘bucket list’ trip for me, and although I wish I could have stayed longer, every moment was magical.

For exquisite hotel accommodations (and a private hotel boat to take you most places), check out Marriott’s Boscolo Venezia, part of the Autograph Collection…you will not be disappointed!

Anyone else have a ‘bucket list’ trip experience to share?

