I made this dreamy cake yesterday.  Here is the recipe: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/apple-cream-cheese-bundt-cake-50400000115369/

This morning I was finishing off the icing/garnish portion and learned a lesson the hard way.   It’s what the recipe DOESN’T tell you that takes you by surprise.  The same thing is true about life, like the old saying goes, sometimes you have to read between the lines.  So too for recipes.  I made the frosting, poured it lovingly onto the cooled down cake, and instantaneously, the icing hardened, leaving my pecans to fall right off the cake instead of adhering to the cake like in the picture from Southern Living.

Image

This is my cake, not Southern Living :-).

What they don’t tell you is that it must be a two person operation, one to pour the frosting, and the other to scatter the pecans, so mine did NOT end up looking like a photo shoot, although I’m sure it will taste just as good.  Lesson learned, and noted for the next time.  As in life, expect some surprises, learn from them, and move on.

And in case any of you are wondering, I’m not on a post Christmas diet, yet…

