Since I posted about my favorite children’s books the other day, I thought I would do justice to grown-up books (I hesitate to write ‘adult’ books lest you think my list be filled with Anais Nin, Erica Jong, or worse) for giving or getting this year.  Some I have read, some are on my ‘must read’ list, and although not all of them are strictly brand new books, they are excellent ones, in my humble opinion.  Again, no fancy bells and whistles, just the list:

1. For people who like to laugh…anything by David Sedaris.  Laugh. Your. A*. Off.

2. For people who like to ponder the depths of humanity…Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky

3. For locavores, tree huggers, etc…Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver

4. For those who love a good mystery…The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

5. For those who like tomes, and just a da** good story, and hard to believe but it really happened…Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts.  PLEASE, I beg of you, read this book BEFORE they make it into a movie with Brad Pitt!

6. For the foodie in your life…The Sweet Life in Paris by David Lebovitz

7. For people who like strange….The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender

8.  For people who really like to cook the recipes in a cookbook they receive…anything from Barefoot Contessa.  Seriously, her recipes rock, and they are realistic for us mere humans to master. Or then again, I might do a whole list with some of my FAVORITE cookbooks, of which there are MANY.

9. For people who like a good (new) travel story with a twist…The Cat’s Table by Michael Ondaatje.

10. For your off-grid/prepper friends…A Place of my Own by Michael Pollan (my significant other doesn’t read my blog very often otherwise it would spoil the surprise!)

11. For people who like ‘heavy’ topic books…A Year of Magical Thinking or Blue Nights by Joan Didion.  Excellent books about loss and pain (maybe not the best Xmas gift, but great reads nonetheless).

12. For people who like mysteries and food…anything by Andrea Camilleri, whose novels of a police detective’s murder investigations and his obsession with Italian cuisine make an unlikely, yet delectable combination.

13. For your fashionista friends and what I’ll be reading after Christmas…The Queen of Fashion: What Marie Antoinette wore to the Revolution by Caroline Weber

