First of all, let me point out that I am NOT an adventurous cook like some.  However, I am a naturally curious sort, and love a bargain, so when I saw a package of ‘lamb breasts’, and I’m being honest here, I had NO IDEA what they were, or what to do with them but I knew 3 things: 1) they were CHEAP…a mere $6 for several pounds worth, and 2) I am not scared of any cut of meat, especially cheap cuts.  They are usually WAY better than the price would make them appear i.e. Boston butt, flank steak, whole chickens, beef cheeks…the list goes on and on and 3) you can find a good recipe for anything online.

So having bought said meat, I went home to find out what lamb breasts were all about.

I found several recipes, but this one is what I made, and I highly suggest you check out the tutorial video, which I found to be exceptionally informative:

http://foodwishes.blogspot.com/2011/07/beautiful-breast-of-lamb-with-honey.html

I can tell you that we ate it so fast I forgot to take pictures, reason being, the house smelled so darn good while it was cooking that we could hardly wait to get it out of the oven!  I served green beans and tiny boiled white potatoes with it and the combination was a perfect foil for the fragrant, flavorful lamb.

Although there is a lot of time devoted to cooking, the only prep involved is making the paste and rubbing it on said lamb…super easy!

IMG_7957

 

I highly recommend seeking out lamb breast.  It is similar to pork belly, only better, in my humble opinion.  Many thanks to FOODWISHES for the yummy recipe and photo!

 

 

