It started way back when, with a former fantastic boss of mine, who told me about this cool place (she is, after all, one of the best trend forecasters of all time!) that had communal tables and great organic food.  At the time, they didn’t have many locations, but these days you can find them in many metropolitan locations.  So when I went up to NYC with my daughter, who was singing in Carnegie Hall (yes, you read correctly…I’m a Very Proud Mom), we stopped for both breakfast and lunch at Le Pain Quotidien.

For breakfast one morning, Celia ordered the most gorgeous hot chocolate I’ve ever seen…

But that’s not all.  It gets soooo much better.  They have this bakery item called a hazelnut flute, that is so insanely delicious it should be contraband.  But then to add a sinful flourish, they have these unctous nut ‘spreads’ on the tables to slather on the hazelnut flute that will literally put you over the edge.  I admit, I have the recipe for the hazelnut flutes, but it is not an easy one, and I haven’t tried it yet, but if you’re so inclined, its on the King Arthur Flour web site.  You have to bake them twice like biscotti if I remember correctly, anyway, I digress.  Get on the Le Pain Quotidien web site, check out their locations, and get to one as soon as possible.  Your life will be forever changed.

