So after 30 years of not being in school, I have elected, of my own volition mind you, to  re-enter the world of academia in pursuit of a Master’s degree, so that, ironically, after being in the fashion business the better part of 25 years, I can teach fashion at the college level.  It’s a racket, but I’m playing along.  It will be interesting to see the other side of the fence after being in the business world.  And I’m thinking maybe I’ll write a textbook since today I was FLOORED by the $200 price tag for a slim volume entitled “Consumer Behavior”…can hardly wait to be enlightened.

I know, my cynical side is coming out, but can you blame me?

So my Orientation today consisted of info on the Library, IT services, and the Health Center.  I did not hear one word about how the heck my 2 web classes work…I guess I’ll be logging online every hour waiting to see when my class ‘starts’ and what I’m supposed to do.  I do have one on campus class and I understand how that works, at least I think I do, or I did!

So the Dean of the entire Graduate School closed his overview with the following “Thank you for shopping at Wal-Mart”.  I wish I were kidding.  I really don’t know what to make of this.  I know he was trying to be humorous, but seriously?

On a completely different note, my older daughter turned 17 the other day, and is celebrating this evening with a 1920’s themed party.  She had to work on her birthday since she is a Starbuck’s BARISTA.

Am attaching a picture of my unique fashionista.  I am not sure where the passion for that decade came from but I’m sure the faux cigarette and vibrant red lips have a lot to do with it.  I know it wasn’t Downton Abbey since she hasn’t watched it.  Season 3 is about to start and the fashion blogs are already abuzz channeling the 20’s as the hottest trend.  Maybe she’s onto something??

